No products in the basket.

SUMMER OF SOUL- or, when the revolution could not be televised 2xLP

SUMMER OF SOUL- or, when the revolution could not be televised 2xLP


This item will be released June 17, 2022.

4 available for pre-ordering


Summer of Soul (...Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) Original Motion Picture Soundtrack  The album accompanies Questlove’s directorial debut documentary Summer of Soul (...Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised), which won the Grand Jury Prize and Audience Award at the Sundance Film Festival and is available in select theaters and on Hulu now. It notably took home six top honors at the Critics Choice Awards, including “Best Documentary Feature, “Best Director,” “Best First Documentary Feature, “Best Editing,” “Best Archival Documentary, and “Best Music Documentary,” and was Winner of Best Documentary Award from the National Board of Review. It is currently nominated for “Best Music Film” at the 2022 GRAMMY® Awards.

For the album, Questlove carefully selected 17 live renditions of jazz, blues, R&B, Latin, and soul classics performed over the course of The Harlem Cultural Festival in 1969 as chronicled by the film.


Additionally, the Soundtrack boasts everything from B.B. King’s poignant and powerful guitar-driven gem “Why I Sing The Blues” to the rapturous “Precious Lord Take My Hand” by The Operation Breadbasket Orchestra & Choir featuring Mahalia Jackson and Mavis Staples. Not to mention, Gladys Knight & The Pips show out on a simmering “I Heard It Through The Grapevine, while Nina Simone’s voice smolders on “Backlash Blues” and “Are You Ready.


Said Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, “It goes beyond saying that you can’t have a monster music journey on film without an equally awesome soundtrack. The people demanded ‘more!’.  So for the people, we bring you musical manna that hopefully won’t be the last serving. These performances are lightning

in a bottle. Pure artistry! Enjoy.”

  1. The Chambers Brothers - “Uptown”
  2. B. King - “Why I Sing The Blues”
  3. The 5th Dimension - “Don’t Cha Hear Me Callin’ To Ya”
  4. The 5th Dimension - “Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In (The Flesh Failures)”
  5. David Ruffin - “My Girl”
  6. The Edwin Hawkins Singers - “Oh Happy Day”
  7. The Staple Singers - “It’s Been A Change”
  8. The Operation Breadbasket Orchestra & Choir Featuring Mahalia Jackson and Mavis Staples - “Precious Lord Take My Hand”
  9. Gladys Knight & The Pips - “I Heard It Through The Grapevine”
  10. Mongo Santamaria - “Watermelon Man”
  11. Ray Barretto - “Together”
  12. Herbie Mann- “Hold On, I’m Comin’”
  13. Sly & The Family Stone - “Sing A Simple Song”
  14. Sly & The Family Stone - “Everyday People”
  15. Nina Simone - “Backlash Blues”
  16. Nina Simone - “Are You Ready”

Additional information

Weight 500 g
Dimensions 32 × 32 × .50 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “SUMMER OF SOUL- or, when the revolution could not be televised 2xLP”

Your email address will not be published.

Transmission records

Located in Cliftonville, Margate, Transmission is a record and toy store specialising in hard to find Japanese pressings, soundtracks, post-punk, electronics and metal.
Copyright 2020 Transmission Records


cross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram